For my research paper I was tasked to interview Michael Cook, a former Jewell professor who served in Vietnam, and to try and find some old newspapers and/or yearbooks that relate Jewell to Vietnam.  Over the last few days I set about to accomplish these tasks.  I emailed Dr. Cook and asked him when there was a good time to interview him about his time spent in Vietnam.  He emailed me back and said that there must be some confusion because he has never been to Vietnam much less fight overseas during the Vietnam War.

            I then went to the Clay County Archives to try and find some old resources that would link Jewell to Vietnam.  I looked at many old Jewell yearbooks from the 50’s and 60’s.  I spent a lot of time flipping through the old yearbooks and found absolutely nothing linking Jewell to Vietnam.  They also had a lot of information about the names of people who served in Vietnam and died who lived in the Kansas City Area.  I am planning on going back to the Clay County Archives on Monday, the next time they’re open, with my computer so I can research these names and see if they are linked to Jewell in any way.

